Looking Up or Down During Conversations

Many view looking up or down during conversations as a negative reflection on people who don’t maintain direct eye contact.

I want to put forth some non-judgmental and positive reasons why this happens.

1. More oxygen flows to the brain when the head is tilted back due to elongation of the breathing track, and increased blood flow where it is needed in the back of the head and neck area, where there is a build up of stress and strain.

Looking upward is a Yogic breathing technique aimed at “expansion of mind.”

Although we might not be consciously aware of why we are doing it, it is a physiological response with a beneficial purpose.

2. People of faith often lift their gaze while praying. The upward gaze can be a subconscious way of asking Godde for help during an emotionally fraught or difficult conversation.

3. When we contemplate and think deeply the energy is concentrated in our brain and head region. Looking upward towards that energy, naturally increases concentration.

4. People with sensory sensitivity can be overwhelmed by other people in the room, colors, mannerisms, lights, sounds and movement. Looking away or down helps to focus and cope with sensory overload.

5. Looking down or away may indicate the other person is embarrassed by the subject matter.

6. Neurodiverse people often find it difficult and uncomfortable to maintain direct eye contact.

Most of us are just doing the best we can to get through this process of being human.

May we all be less judgmental and more aware of our humanness when communicating with others.

© MW 🙏

14 thoughts on “Looking Up or Down During Conversations

  1. Interesting post. I find my eyes wander a lot when relating a story. I know people look at me like I’m nuts wheni gesture at the air at something I’m imagining as I describe it. I also have a bit of low self-esteem and can find it hard to look at people’s faces.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mother Wintermoon

      😁”Gesture in the air.” I do that too! It can be uncomfortable to look at people directly all the time. Especially with c-ptsd and sensory sensitivity. I used to train myself to do it for job interviews and such. It took deliberate effort, but after awhile, I was undefeated. 😅 Thanks for commenting, Hetty.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Exactly MW…. may we all be less judgmental and appreciate each other with love and respect more…
    Sending love and well wishes dear MW… What ever you decide to do..
    I have also had a large absence until recently.. As I regain my feet back within WP once more..
    Sending LOVE and Hugs your way x ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I think looking away is a protection mechanism as you lose focus and can no longer truly see whoever is in front of you and any possible uncomfortable or dangerous movement. An awareness ‘outside’ of you is being blocked and leaving you less ‘safe’ so to speak. The survival instinct is very strong. And the more comfortable you are with someone the less need to look away, you feel safer with them. Just a thought…and yes, I’m looking at you 😂 🤣 ❤️ 🙏🏽 🦋

    Liked by 2 people

Your thoughts are a blessing to read and receive. 🙏🏼

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.